

COUNCIL – 11TH OCTOBER, 2016

SUBJECT: BOUNDARY COMMISSION FOR WALES 2018 REVIEW INITIAL

PROPOSALS

REPORT BY: INTERIM HEAD OF LEGAL SERVICES AND MONITORING OFFICER

1. PURPOSE OF REPORT

1.1 To inform Members that the Boundary Commission for Wales has published its initial proposals for the 2018 review of Parliamentary Constituencies. The consultation will run until 5th December, 2016.

2. LINKS TO STRATEGY

2.1 Not applicable.

3. THE REPORT

- 3.1 The Boundary Commission for Wales is an independent and impartial non-departmental public body which is responsible for reviewing parliamentary constituency boundaries in Wales.
- 3.2 The Commission is currently undertaking a review of the existing parliamentary constituencies with a view to recommending changes that are needed in order to comply with the relevant legislation which required that broadly speaking the number of electors in each constituency is equal, whilst also taking account of factors such as local communities.
- 3.3 The 2018 Review will deliver its recommendations to the Government by the 1st October, 2018 recommending only changes it believes appropriate to the distribution size, shape, name or designation of constituencies in Wales.
- 3.4 One of the key requirements of the review is to reduce the number of constituencies in the UK to 600. Within Wales the number of constituencies allocated for the 2018 Review is 29, the current figure is 40.
- 3.5 To achieve this in Wales, every constituency must have an electorate at the review date that is no smaller than 71,031 and no larger than 78,507.
- 3.6 As can be seen from the information provided above there will be a fundamental change to the existing pattern of constituencies in every part of Wales.
- 3.7 The proposed changes affecting the current parliamentary constituencies are set out in the 2018 review document and broad details are set out below.

- 3.7.1 It is proposed that a Caerphilly (Caerfilli) constituency is created from:-
 - (i) The electoral wards within the existing Caerphilly CC and County Borough of Caerphilly of Aber Valley (4,478), Bedwas, Trethomas and Machen (7,456), Llanbradach (3,133), Morgan Jones (5,153), Penyrheol (8,525), St. James (4,126) and St. Martins (6,203);
 - (ii) The electoral wards within the existing Islwyn CC and County Borough of Caerphilly of Abercarn (3,884), Crosskeys (2,344), Maesycwmmer (1,607), Pontllanfraith (5,976), Risca East (4,468), Risca West (3,795) and Ynysddu (2,709); and
 - (iii) The electoral wards within the existing Newport West CC and City and County of Newport of Graig (4,723) and Rogerstone (7,743).
- 3.7.2 It is proposed that Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney (Merthyr Tudfil and Rhymni) constituency is created from:-
 - (i) The whole of the existing Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney CC consisting of:-
 - (a) the County Borough of Caerphilly electoral wards of Darren Valley (1,760), Moriah (3,031), New Tredegar (3,233), Pontlottyn (1,405), and Twyn Carno (1,655); and
 - (b) the County Borough of Merthyr Tydfil electoral wards of Bedlinog (2,649), Cyfartha (4,961), Dowlais (4,739), Gurnos (3,309), Merthyr Vale (2,663), Park (3,176), Penydarren (3,678), Plymouth (3,855), Town (5,580), Treharris (4,831) and Vaynor (2,644);
 - (ii) The electoral wards within the existing Caerphilly CC and county Borough of Caerphilly of Bargoed (4,277), Gilfach (1,481), Hengoed (3,617), Nelson (3,374) St. Cattwg (5,400) and Ystrad Mynach (3,935); and
 - (iii) The electoral ward within the existing Islwyn CC and County Borough of Caerphilly of Aberbargoed (2,520).
- 3.7.3 It is proposed that a Blaenau Gwent constituency is created from:-
 - (i) The whole of the existing Blaenau Gwent CC consisting of the County Borough of Blaenau Gwent electoral wards of Abertillery (3,095), Badminton (2,428) Beaufort (2,768), Blaina (3,351), Brynmawr (3,826), Cwm (3,168), Cwmtillery (3,358), Ebbw Vale North (3,249), Ebbw Vale South (2,905), Georgetown (2,942), Llanhilleth (3,324), Nantyglo (3,187), Rassau (2,386), Sirhowy (4,125) Six Bells (1,702) and Tredegar Central and West (3,847); and
 - (ii) The electoral wards within the existing Islwyn CC and County Borough of Caerphilly of Argoed (1,910), Blackwood (5,947), Cefn Fforest (2,765), Crumlin (4,195), Newbridge (4,611), Pengam (2,571) and Penmaen (4,004).
- 3.8 A hard copy of the 2018 Review Report has been placed in the Members library and all of the relevant plans have been displayed in the reception area at the Council offices. In addition, Members can access the 2018 Review Report on the Boundary Commission's website www.bcomm-wales.gov.uk.
- 3.9 The consultation runs until 5th December, 2016 and the Boundary Commission welcomes comments on the proposals by email at bcomm.wales@wales.gsi.gov.uk or in writing to The Boundary Commission for Wales, Hastings House, Fitzalan Court, Cardiff, CF24 0BL

3.10 Public Hearings will be held during the consultation period and the venues and information will be found on the Boundary Commissions web site. For Cardiff two days are planned, 26th and 27th October at the Mercure Holland House Hotel 10am -8pm and 9am-5pm. To request a formal speaking slot individuals are asked to email or formally request in writing.

4. FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

4.1 Not applicable at this stage as the proposals referred to in the Report which is for information only are currently out to public consultation.

5. PERSONNEL IMPLICATIONS

5.1 Not applicable at this stage as the proposals referred to in the Report which is for information only are currently out to public consultation.

6. EQUALITIES IMPLICATIONS

6.1 Not applicable at this stage as the proposals referred to in the Report which is for information only are out to public consultation.

7. CONSULTATIONS

7.1 As listed.

8. RECOMMENDATIONS

8.1 Members are asked to note the information contained in the Report including the closing date for consultation responses.

9. REASONS FOR THE RECOMMENDATIONS

9.1 To update members on the contents of the 2108 Initial Review proposals.

10. STATUTORY POWER

10.1 Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Act 2011.

Author: Gail Williams, Interim Head of Legal Services/Monitoring Officer

Consultees: Chris Burns, Interim Chief Executive

Dave Beecham, Electoral Services Manager

Councillor K.V. Reynolds, Leader

Background papers: Boundary Commission 2018 Review of Parliamentary Constituencies Initial

Proposals